top of page

NEWS - "Preliminary results are in; Some old, some new faces as voters have their say in 2021"

BOX ELDER COUNTY - November 2, 2021

The ballots have been unofficially counted in the 2021 general election in Box Elder County and voters have chosen their next group of leaders. Although there was not an overabundance of hats tossed in the political ring this year, there were some tight races and some surprise upsets.

Preliminary results posted by Box Elder County HERE and below are reporting the following numbers.

1st_Results.pdf ( The next release of results will be Thursday, November 4.

The hottest race of the election goes to Garland City with their mayoral race between incumbent Todd Miller and Linda Bourne. As of 8:54 p.m., preliminary results are showing Bourne with 259 votes and Miller at 220.

For Garland City Council, Jeanette Atkinson leads with 342 votes. Steven Peacock has 233 votes and Kevin Stay at 209 votes. The top two will take 4-year council seats.

Incumbent Chuck Bingham leads the race in Garland City's 2-year council seat with 187 votes. Elizabeth Potter has 109 votes and write-in candidate is listed at 141 with no name attached.

In Tremonton City, Lyle Holmgren, running unopposed for Tremonton City Mayor, has a total of 686 preliminary votes. Incumbent Bret Rohde, running for city council in Tremonton, has a total of 576 votes with the write-in candidates total only marked at 512 with no names attached.

In Bear River City, Megan Armstrong was unopposed in her bid for Mayor and garnered 183 votes. Newly elected councilmembers will be Joshua Dallin (179) and Riggin Holmgren (148). They beat out Clinton Armstrong (56).

In Corinne, Shane D. Baton outlasted Patty Tillman for the mayoral position, 136-31. Named to the two vacant council seats were Ann Whitaker (101) and Curtis Hansen (94), over Wade Layton (75) and Danna Hutchison (52).

Lesley Kendrick saw no opposition for the mayor seat in Deweyville and received 107 votes. Nathan Spackman (88) and Leslie Wheatley (74) bested Bunny Jo Barnett (45) and Kaysie Wilcox (13) to earn spots at the council table.

In Honeyville, with no opposition, Boyd Bingham (170) will stay on as mayor. Bruce Nelson (150) and Kory Wilde (117) earned enough votes over David Hougaard (98) to serve as councilmen.

Portage voters put Max Huggins (81) in the lead over Grant Smith (13) in the mayoral race and Tyson Nelson (79) and Lesley Smith (44) step into the council positions unopposed.

Wendi Barker (57) won the mayor title in Plymouth handily over Thomas Provins (8) and Burke Udy (56) and Jess Marshall (50) got the nod from voters over Charles Wilson (13)

In other county elections:

Brigham City


  • Dennis Bott (2,389)

(2) Council:

  • Matthew Jensen (1727)

  • Ryan Smith (1718)

  • Thomas Peterson (1627



  • Terry Nelson (275)

  • Joseph Bach (201)

(2) Council:

Karen Nelson (269)

Jared Jeppsen (258

Eric Ellis (181)

Blake Marsh (176)

Council: Pam Eaves (228)

Justin Brown (224)



  • Kevin Jeppsen (1012)

(2) Council:

  • David Walker (904)

  • Ashley Young (590)

  • Esther Montgomery (537)



  • Tavis Mote (336)

  • Kenneth Braegger (251)

(2) Council:

  • Rodney Mund (393)

  • Michael Braegger (355)

  • Jordan Hulsey (306)


bottom of page